//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Change of Plans

I’ve decided not to do Chesapeakeman 140.6 this September, or any other ultra distance triathlon for that matter.

I thought long and hard about the decision and talked it over carefully with my wife. I made the decision for many reasons, the biggest of which is that I wasn’t having as much fun as I want to have. I was taking myself too seriously and being nailed to an ironman training program wasn’t going to help me.

I also have two kids, including an 10 month old, and I wasn’t going to be able to be the kind of father that I wanted to be. When I had this discussion with my wife and told her of my decision, the look of relief on her face was confirmation enough that I was making the right choice.

I want to be able to go for a hike if I want, and not feel bad about missing a tempo run. I want to put my kayak in the water more often this summer and not feel bad about missing my swim. I want to enter races for all sorts of crazy reasons and not have to worry about whether they fit into my training schedule.

I’m still going to compete at Eagleman 70.3 and will likely find another half towards the end of the season, but I want the fun and freedom back in this sport. I’m planning on making my time less of a goal and focusing more on having fun and feeling great.

I’m really happy about this and look forward to doing an Ironman one day. Now is just not the right time for me.

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

22 thoughts on “Change of Plans

  1. As a fellow parent of very young children, I totally agree with your decision. There will be plenty of time to reach your goal, but your kids only grow up once. I’m sure it was a tough decision, but you should be proud because your reasons are solid in my book.

    Posted by diane5hoffman@yahoo.com | January 31, 2012, 1:13 pm
  2. It sounds like you are making the right decision for you. IM is such a big time commitment and invovles so many sacrifices to make it to the finish line. It’s one I’m not sure I would be doing myself if I had children. The half distance is still very challenging, but I think allows you to be a little more free with your schedule 🙂

    Posted by Sarah | January 31, 2012, 1:32 pm
  3. Great re-evaluation of your plans. While there is no doubt you would’ve done it, the trade-off might not have been worth it (less time with the kids). Knock out a half and you’ll still be twice the man i am!

    Posted by Justin | January 31, 2012, 1:41 pm
  4. as a coach, and someone who has done 3 IM races, i agree that if you are not having fun, then stop doing it. luckily you are not out a ton of money or time or have an injury! and i firmly believe you did make the best decision….because it felt right to you! now go out there and have fun no matter what you are doing 🙂

    Posted by JOANNA | January 31, 2012, 2:08 pm
  5. Congrats on making your decision. My email said all I need to say to you in regards to this and just know that I will be here to bounce ideas off of.

    Be great at whatever endeavor you choose, especially parenthood.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | January 31, 2012, 4:47 pm
  6. Family first!

    Posted by Coach Bees | January 31, 2012, 7:53 pm
  7. I think by making this choice for you and your family, then the world is your oyster! Ya gotta have balance and this stuff is suppose to be fun….and if we’re not chasing paychecks for doing it (which would be lots of fun) then sometimes we need to just enjoy the moment. You’ll do 140.6, just not right now….In time, when it’s right. I think I’m saving it for my sons 1st year at college ….I can consume myself with training and not stalk him…I know he’ll greatly appreciate it!! 🙂 Enjoy the year….and hey 70.3 ain’t for the slackers…

    Posted by jnkmiles.org | January 31, 2012, 9:27 pm
  8. LIke I said in my email, I think you 100% right in what you are doing bro

    Posted by Feerlessfood | February 1, 2012, 2:06 am
  9. Chuck, I really look up to you in so many ways. As competitive as you can be, I can always count on your level head to keep me in check.

    Posted by paddyb76 | February 1, 2012, 7:43 am
  10. I think that the road to the finish line is really a team effort. If you team is not totally on board, OR if you are causing them undo stress to get there, you must re evaluate. Your wife and your kids are your team. They will support you even more when it IS the right time! And 70.3’s are no joke. Enjoy the new goals!

    Posted by kacie | February 1, 2012, 10:59 am
  11. I respect the choice you have made. The road to Ironman is long and takes a lot of sacrifice. Some day you will cross that finish line and when you do that road less traveled will be worth it. I am glad you have your priorities straight and am putting your family first. As you know, I am single, which took the family factor out of the picture. I had a conversation with a client, who is a wife of an Ironman. She talked about how much stress it puts on the family and how it can too easily pull marriages and family’s apart. Like someone said in your comments everyone needs to be on board. One day you will cross that line and I can’t wait to have you as a part of the Ironman club. Until then, I’ll enjoy training and racing with you all the chances we get!

    Posted by Shawn | February 2, 2012, 9:21 pm
  12. Good for you. I came to the same realization last year. The 140.6… Will always be there, but your kids will grow up and move out. 😉

    Posted by Laura | February 3, 2012, 11:11 am
  13. just came to this blog for the first time. i wholly agree with your decision… one of the reasons why i did so many challenges in the last 4 years is because i knew that once i got a family, (yes even just a hubs), i wouldn’t want to be doing crazy training. i enjoyed doing my triathlons last year, and i’d definitely do them again, but i’m not cut out for all that time spent training…would much rather just run! 🙂

    Posted by Julie jgal | April 26, 2012, 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

