//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

How do you rationalize what you do….

I’m about to argue why someone shouldn’t do the things that we do; that is extreme endurance events and training. I want to preface this by saying that I’m currently battling a virus, and the absolute last thing I feel like doing is going for a swim, bike or run. The article that got me thinking about this was written by Dr. Mercola.

I did some internet searching and found several articles/studies that made similar arguments that extreme endurance training is not only an inefficient way of training and exercising, but that it could be harmful.

When I got into this sport, the motivation was to be as healthy as I could be so that I would be able to live a long, active life with grandkids and hopefully great grandkids. At some point, the motivation became a little more selfish and I started wanting to perform well in races and win my age group etc.

These articles have me thinking, and I’m not sure how much of it has to do with the fact that I’m not feeling well. But there is a part of me that wants to reconsider what I do and what I’m planning on doing. I’m committed to doing my 140.6 this upcoming fall, but I’m wondering if it will be my first and only.

How do you justify your endurance training?

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “How do you rationalize what you do….

  1. Good ole Dr. Mercola….he causes me to think way more than I’d like so I had to delete his email notifications 🙂
    Ok, here’s my thought…you KNEW I’d have a few too…
    I believe it’s like everything else in life….it requires balance and moderation
    I’m not doing 140.6 YET…but it took a good year to build my endurance base to where it is now, so I can push for 65 days or so as I get ready for my 70.3. I’m old, so I did it slow…but I maintain a good base year round. Not quite as big as it is now,but sizable
    I think if you push the limit every day…day in and day out then yes you’ll see some effects of tissue destruction and not just skeletal muscles… the heart is one big ole muscle that can be effected. As can the kidneys…that worries me more than anything else really….
    Everything in moderation….and we have to train smart and race smart too…
    easier said than done!!
    Hope you feel better soon….
    😉

    Posted by jnkmiles.org | January 25, 2012, 9:30 pm
  2. I’m not sure the word justification is one that I would use. This is what I do just like a book worm reads books.

    In terms of health it is about ‘pacing’ and knowing that not everyday is a push the envelope day. You have to have rest days and slow days and fast days, etc. This will keep your body and mind fresh.

    On days when you are not there then go slow and don’t be married to the plan. Change it as needed and keep your focus on the large prize.

    Also, being sick is your body’s way of telling you it needed rest. Allow that to take it course and then get back at it.

    Posted by jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | January 26, 2012, 4:34 am
  3. I don’t rationalize it at all. It’s a matter of seeing what my body can do. I do it because it gives me much needed ‘me’ time. I do it because I love it. Although a full ironman probably isn’t in the cards in the near future because I have a family and a job. I’m just ready to commit that much time away from them now. Maybe when they’re older and not interested in their mom, but not before that.
    Get some rest. If you’re sick, your body needs rest to heal. Hang in there

    Posted by diane5hoffman@yahoo.com | January 26, 2012, 8:38 am
  4. The training does not make you healthy. It is only one factor in “healthy”. Keep perspective on the big picture man. I do not believe that 140.6 is healthy to do over and over. Middle distances are much easier on the body and require much less stress… meaning you can still “live your life” and not live, eat, breathe training you know?

    I do my thinking in the winter season and question a ton of what I do. Triathlon bores me at the current point in time. But, I got fat so I need to stay active. Triathlon is one of the ways I am motivated to stay active. I don’t want to live a long life, old age does not seem enjoyable based on what I have seen in my life… so I don’t care if tri is good for me or bad for me 🙂

    Posted by Matt Oravec | January 26, 2012, 9:33 am
  5. Pretty component to content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I get actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment or even I achievement you get admission
    to persistently rapidly.

    Posted by www.24fansite.com | May 5, 2013, 12:56 am

Leave a Reply

