//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

One year deep with 10 months to go

Today marks the one year anniversary of when I stepped my fat ass on the scale at the gym and decided that 260 lbs at 33 years old just wasn’t going to cut it. Instead of lifting weights periodically and thinking of myself as a “big guy” (when really I was a fat ass) I decided to make real changes.

I lost 45ish lbs (I don’t weigh myself very often) probably put a few back on since tri season ended, but today I’m rededicating myself to the goals of health, wellness, and speedy triathlons. I have about 10 months until C-Man and I have a lot of work to do.

As I work my way through this winter, I’m going to heed the advice of several Tri coaches that I’ve talked to who told me to focus on my speed this winter not my endurance. So it is going to be lots of tempo and threshold work .

Interesting article on CRUISE INTERVALS

Off to the pool and then to the track!

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “One year deep with 10 months to go

  1. Congrats on the weight loss

    Posted by BDD | November 25, 2011, 11:11 am
  2. Way to go! Remarkable journey! Keep up your excellent work!!

    Posted by runnergirl training | November 25, 2011, 11:27 am
  3. What a great journey this is going to be! 260 is great for football but not triathlon! Keep up the positive changes Pat!

    Posted by Kc | November 25, 2011, 2:37 pm
  4. That is awesome to read brother. Dropping 45 lbs in one year is remarkable. Keep up the great work and you will own C-Man!

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | November 27, 2011, 10:26 am

Leave a Reply

