//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Thoughts….

There’s a lot that has been going on in my head, despite the relative inactivity that has been going on with my training. In order to help myself make sense of it, and to fill in those of you who care, I’m gonna lay out there.

Most interestingly, I’ve been dog sitting for some friends all week and here is a short clip of Shannon, my boxer playing with Biggie, their American Bulldog in their yard.

 

I registered for Eagleman on June 10. I’m also considering a few other HIMs early in the summer to prepare me for C-Man

From a training standpoint, I’m beginning my taper week leading up to the Philly Half Marathon next Sunday. My training has had it’s ups and downs as my 210 lb frame doesn’t always take kindly to the dramatic increase in running volume. My right knee has gone through periods of fairly intense pain, particularly after my longer runs. It had been doing much better, but recently made it’s presence know again after a 13.1 mile effort yesterday. My training schedule only called for 12 easy miles yesterday, which is what I set out to do, but shortly after beginning, I realized that I was moving at a pretty good clip and I figured I’d end the suspense then and go for the 13.1 and see if I could hit my goal. Definitely not the wisest thing I’ve ever done, but I was able to beat my sub 2 hour goal by 3 minutes without pushing it too hard.

I haven’t been in the pool in going on three weeks and I’m anxious to return soon, as I’m going to be taking some time off from running to allow my knee and another nagging injury heal. For a while, it will just be the bike and the pool for me. I’ve been advised by several triathlon coaches to not over stress my body (don’t run too much) in the offseason as I will be running plenty once my training program begins in mid April.

As for the bike, I’ve been trying to fit some rides in on Zenobia, my new Felt B16. The weather around here has been fairly cooperative, but the amount of day light hasn’t. Consequently, I’ve managed to get no more that 40 miles outside. The trainer on the other hand has been a different story. I set up my own personal pain cave in the garage and have put in some miles there to say the least. I’ve even set my alarm for 3 am a few times to make sure I got a longer ride in. Recently, I downloaded Hell Hath No Fury from thesufferfest.com. I was extremely impressed with the product. The 2 x 20 minute set was thoroughly punishing and kept me at a tempo/threshold pace for a while. Coaches’ wisdom has told me over and over again that this is the way to get faster and this off season is the time to get faster. So this winter, while the warmth of the house and more specifically my bed is calling my name, I’m likely to be spending some time getting faster while burning it up to some sufferfest videos.

Along with the start of the school year and a transitional time for my wife in her career, coupled with our wonderful 7 month old daughter who hates to sleep, life has been taxing and finding the time to fit in all the training that I want has been difficult. Don’t get me wrong here, as crazy as life gets, I wouldn’t trade for anything, I love my students (this year) and my wife and kids, but it’s been hectic. Anyway, I’ve been concerned with regard to how I am going to fit these longer rides and twice daily training sessions into my life if I’m having trouble now and I’m not dealing with the same volume that I will be. It’s going to be tough, but once school is over, I should have a little more time available. But I will still have marathon swim meets to attend for my son and summer school to teach. I guess this is what makes me an age grouper after all. Anyway, I run the risk of out writing my welcome and you’ve already been too kind, and my eyes are getting heavy.

4:00 am comes early

Off to bed I go………

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Thoughts….

  1. Enjoy your reward for all your hard work next Sunday

    Posted by BDD | November 16, 2011, 10:09 am
  2. Pat – if there is something you want then you will sacrifice items to get to those goals. It maybe that extra 30 minutes of sleep, it maybe going to bed at 8:30p and not finishing the end of the game but if you have goals then go for them with all that you have. Everything else can wait outside of family. Go for it all!

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | November 27, 2011, 10:32 am

Leave a Reply

