//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Everybody loves a quicky right!

Alright I know it’s been quite a while since my last post and I really want to try to keep up with all of this. I’ve been busier than ever at work and it is unlikely that things are going to slow down significantly, so I’m going to post when I can, about what I can. You get the picture.

I want to keep track of what’s been going on, for your benefit, but mostly for mine, because life has been a whirlwind lately. I’ve been training for my Half Marathon on Nov. 20 and quite frankly I want to get it over with. My initial goal was to run it under 2 hours, but I’ve really been running faster than I really ever thought I could. My long run last week was a 10 miler at an 8:39 pace. I’m confident that I can run under 2 hours, I’m just not sure how much under. My knee has been bothering me, particularly after my long efforts, and it’s been taking a few days to get back to normal.

This past week saw me get my long run in on Monday, and the rest of the week was hit or miss all over the place with my knee. My tempo run on wednesday ended up being an easy 3 miles because of pain, but thursday I felt fine going four miles. I haven’t run since then, skipping my long run today, but I think that an easy week was what was in order for me. I’m hoping this week will produce some better results as I try to refocus before the race in 3 weeks.

I also got a new bike this week. A Felt B16 I named Zenobia. I’m pretty excited because this is the first time I’ve been on a TT bike. It’s also my first carbon frame. I haven’t had the chance to really get out on her since there was a major Nor’easter this weekend, but it’s gonna happen. I’m really looking forward to shutting the run down for a few weeks after my 13.1 and really going to town on the bike. With daylight limited, most of it will be on the trainer, but I’m looking forward to building a solid base and building some speed this off-season. I have a lot of room to grow on the bike.

Anyway, I set my alarm for 3:00 am so I can get a longer ride in the morning, so I better end things there. You guys always keep me totally inspired. I’m really looking forward to following KC and Denise R. as they conquer IMFL next week. And congrats to Jason who kicked ass in his 70.3. As always, I’d give you guys the shirt off my back. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can do for you.

Keep in touch folks, y’all keep me grounded!

Peace!

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Everybody loves a quicky right!

  1. Great post! Keep going to your goal! I’m sure you’ll rock that race!

    Posted by runnergirltrain | October 30, 2011, 8:51 pm
  2. I hear ya on life being a whirlwind. With work and training, I never have much time to really sit down and blog as much as I’d like, or read all the blogs I love dearly and comment as much as I’d really like to. Take that knee pain day by day like you are doing and you’ll get thru that 13.1 under 2 hours, no doubt about it. It will be a whole new world of biking with a tri bike that is full carbon. Before I got my Q-Roo, I was riding a roadbike with aero-bars …not the same.
    Thanks so much for offering to do the updates on dailymile. That is going to be great and much appreciated.

    Posted by kc | October 30, 2011, 9:04 pm
  3. Life is crazy sometimes but you just have to organize, especially when you don’t want to, and it gets easier.

    Keep up the great work, take care of the knee and now the new bike and you’ll be golden for anything coming your way in 2012.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | November 1, 2011, 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

