//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

In lieu of “A Season in Review”

In my last post, I suggested that readers look for a post coming very soon called, “A Season in Review” or something like that. I had been planning on wrapping up my season and taking a few weeks off to rest and heal before beginning marathon training to get me ready for my 140.6 next year. I’ve been training since November without any breaks other than a day off once a week and the occasional recovery week that I generally had trouble honoring. I also have a foot issue going on with my right foot where my second toe and the ball of my foot get real sore and swell a bit after a run. So I planning on shutting it down for a while, but then I started thinking about my last race, the Quakerman Olympic and it seems there’s some unsettled business.

I wasn’t happy with my swim in that race, and I want to leave this season feeling really good about everything so that I can come into next year full of confidence. Basically, I was unhappy with my swim because although I’ve swam that distance (.6) miles many times in the open water, I had trouble doing it with a wetsuit on. I want more wetsuit experience because I’m going to wear one this time next year in my IM.

So, here is where I stand: I’m going to my primary care physician today to hopefully get a referral to a podiatrist to look at my foot. This will be the first time I’ve gone to this PCP, and I’m hoping that he will be supportive of my plans when I tell him about the ironman and will help me monitor my overall health throughout the year. (I’ve heard good things about him). If I get the all clear from my doctors, then I’m going to continue training and do one more Olympic tri this season and then just transition into marathon training over the winter, I’ll also throw some trainer rides and swims in there as well but the focus will be running which is by far my weakness.

My wife isn’t thrilled with me, she thought she was going to have me around the house for at least several weeks and it looks like it may only be a few days. But undoubtedly, I have that itch, which is just a symptom of a large disease called triathlon.

Keeping my fingers crossed,

Pat

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “In lieu of “A Season in Review”

  1. “But undoubtedly, I have that itch, which is just a symptom of a large disease called triathlon” haha .. i thought this was pretty funny and so true! All I talk about is tri-ing. I’m not sure I can even hold “normal” conversations anymore.

    I hope your foot is ok.

    Posted by Sarah | September 15, 2011, 11:34 am
  2. Your wife will have you around the house a lot with trainer rides in the winter, you just won’t be able to sweep and mop unless she let’s your ride around the house doing it.

    By the way don’t tell her that there is no cure for this disease.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | September 16, 2011, 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

