//
you're reading...
Life in general, Triathlon

Thanks for lighting the fire…..

A friend of mine just told me that he was at the bike shop looking at a Cervelo P4 or something from the Trek Concept 9 series, the cheapest of which is shown here. This friend, while he has competed in triathlons before, has not competed in any this year or last. I’ll be honest, I sometimes feel a little competitive with him.

Having just told him that I was planning on racing the Chesapeakeman 140.6 next September, I was expecting a bit of a challenge from him and his soon to be new bike. Let me remind those of you who may not know, I currently ride a 2010 Trek 1.2 that I got on clearance for $680 or so. Needless to say, I started to feel that competitive fire growing inside me. I quickly reminded myself that without riding a Ferrari of a bike several times a week, it’s unlikely to do the rider much good, and that the engine is what is most important, not the bike.

Anyway, the point of this post was to remind you, and more importantly myself, of what I know about how to get faster, or at least fast enough to beat Steve if we ever race the same course:

  • My body composition is still not what it should be to maximize speed. I’m 6-3 and weigh about 215. I would certainly be faster at 200 lbs or less.
  • With my new Cycleops Fluid 2 trainer in full swing over the coming winter, I will likely beat anyone who doesn’t ride all winter long, but it’s up to me to wear that machine out as best I can.
  • Making sure that I maximize the quality of my runs will make me faster. I know they all can’t be perfect, but if I can stay hydrated and keep my nutrition straight, more of them will be classified as good runs and that is very important.

Whatever happens I can say this, my fire has been fueled and that will almost definitely result in a fitter and faster me. For that, I’m grateful!

What advice would you give to a guy engaged in such a battle of pride?

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Thanks for lighting the fire…..

  1. Everytime you don’t want to train… think of him. Works for me everytime.

    Agree on your points though. And BELIEVE me, you will be much faster at a lighter weight, I only got faster as I dropped my weight last year.

    Winter is the time to get your foundation built up so you can fine tune it come spring and focus on speed.

    Posted by Matt Oravec | August 31, 2011, 4:03 pm
  2. My advice is to not worry about that friend and worry about yourself. Focus on your abilities and what you can do. While we may measure ourselves against others we can only control ourselves and that is where I would focus my attention.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | August 31, 2011, 4:07 pm
  3. I’ll tell you what, I think of two things when getting myself going. 1) Just how damned good I am going to feel for having accomplished the actual activity. Period. 2) I’ll admit that I do think competitively while training. I have a rival that in a winter series of 10k’s, beat me for first Clydesdale by a combined :13. That sucks. 13 damned seconds over my three best of 4 10Ks and I would have gotten the big award. I beat him in two of them, but not enough to make up the time he was in front of my for the least good of the three. Here’s part of the problem, we don’t even know each other, so really, it’s only a one-sided rivalry. What works for my motivation even better though, is the sake of general competition. I do ALOT of envisioning when I am cranking the treadmill to 9% incline. I envision passing younger, smaller guys on trail runs that likely have been at it much longer than I have. I envision finishing strong, thinking of the final climb to the finish at Mt. Penn after 13 miles of grueling terrain. I envision shaving minutes off my previous year’s time. I envision my heart pumping grapevine and strong. I think of how I am in the best shape of my life. I think of Pre’s quote of not wasting my gifts, both generic and earned.

    Posted by David Boelker | September 7, 2011, 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

