//
you're reading...
Life in general

Wanting to Give More

Shortly after making my way into this sport and the lifestyle that goes along with it, I began to follow the training and posts of Jason Bahamundi and his website Cooktraineatrace.com . Jason is insanely positive in every sense of the word. His energy, helpfulness and passion leave one looking for countless superlatives. Recently, Jason has been writing voluminously about his desire to help win the battle against obesity in America. Jason has partnered with Shape Up America to raise money for this battle. Specifically, he has asked people to donate five cents for every mile that he is planning to race. The total comes to about $14. His goal is to raise $20,000 to help America stay lean and mean. You can donate to this worthy cause HERE. After reading about Jason’s efforts, I was moved to make a donation and my wife, a former dietician, did so as well. Jason got me thinking, but more on that in a minute.

I recently began following Emily from runemz.com. Emily is truly a warrior when it comes to endurance sport, she’s run no less than 12 marathons, and it could be more than that. Aside from being totally awesome and bleeding positive energy, Emily and Jason have another thing in common. Like Jason, Emily uses her blogging and running skill to raise money for a charity. In this case, the charity is The Sojourner Center an organization that provides support to the victims of domestic violence. In order to bring attention to her charity, Emily sells super trendy “Run Emz” T-shirts on her site. She makes no money on the T-shirts, but hopes that the people who come looking for the shirts will be inspired to make a donation. To honor Emily’s superior awesomeness, I had to get both a T-shirt and make a donation.

Both of these people got me to thinking about what kind of difference I could make while engaging in my past times: training, racing and blogging. I have so much more thought to put into this, but I know there is good that can be produced through these efforts. What charity? I’m not sure yet, there are a few that are close to my heart. Over the course of the next while I’m going to figure out which organization I’d like to help. I also need to think about how I want benefit the organization. Should I ask for donations like Jason, be more passive like Emily, or should I sell a product via my blog and donate the profits to a charity? Should I solicit donations based on the races or miles I race. I’m not sure, but would appreciate your input. I know this, in a short time, this sport has given me a lot. It’s time for me to give back a little.

Do you support any charities via your racing/training/blogging?

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Wanting to Give More

  1. Jason and Emz are my heroes! Both awesome people!

    Hopefully you will be pondering your charity options while running or riding the trainer – that IM ain’t gonna race itself!

    Posted by Jeff Irvin | August 25, 2011, 10:32 pm
  2. So don’t deserve this. Jason sure does though. You my friend are amazing. Thank you for your positive energy and truly seeing what I AM trying to do with these shirts. I am so grateful for you, your coments and your donation. The Sojourner Center is quite an amazing place. Truly changed my life, my perspective in one visit. My husband had about the worst childhood ever. His stories – to this day – make me cry instantly. DV has no “look”. It affects all races, all income ranges, all education levels. [sorry I am rambling] 😉

    I thank YOU again & again.

    Posted by Emz | August 26, 2011, 3:01 pm
  3. I don’t deserve this anymore more than you Em, but I will say that I am super thrilled to know that it has made the difference in at least one person’s life and that is you Patrick. Use your hard work at training, racing and blogging to do good in this world.

    I get fed up with all the whiny stuff I see and fed up with all the bad news we see everyday that I just want to be a glimmer of hope. I am overwhelmed anytime somebody mentions me or emails me with a question. I always forward them to my wife and say can you believe this? Little me in this giant world of sites, blogs and social media. I can make a difference and I am going to make a difference……just like you my friend.

    No matter what charity you decide and how you decide to solicit donations I am going to be there to help you.

    Now go get on that trainer because as my Road ID says: Ironman Waits For No One

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | August 26, 2011, 3:47 pm
    • Yeah man! So much of my involvement in this sport is selfish…. time to pay it forward a bit. More motivating than following your workouts and training is your positive energy and the vibe you put out there.

      Posted by paddyb76 | August 26, 2011, 9:43 pm

Leave a Reply

