//
you're reading...
Triathlon

Preliminary Schedule for 2012

Ok, like every other person I’ve met in this sport, the ultimate goal is to complete an iron distance event. With that in mind, thanks to the prodding of friends on Daily Mile and Twitter, and while the fire still burns like the center of the sun, I’ve decided to make 2012 my first iron year. Considering that as I write this, I’ve yet to compete in a triathlon longer than a sprint, I need to consider getting some racing miles in before my 140.6. Remaining on the schedule for this year is the Quakerman Olympic which will be my first Olympic distance triathlon. I also think I’m going to add the Jersey Shore International Triathlon on 9/24 or Bassman Olympic on 10/2 to get some more experience. And lastly I will be running the Philadelphia Half-Marathon in November. Looking ahead to next year, I have my eye on C-man in late September. Before I complete that, I would like to complete a half ironman and before doing that I’d like to do another olympic distance, and I think maybe it’s a good idea to start the season off with a warm up sprint. Below is the schedule that I think will work best in order to give me incremental steps towards my goal and in order to give me the confidence I will need to become and Ironman. Without a doubt, this schedule is subject to change, and certainly I will listen to your suggestions if you think you see any glaring problems that lie herein.
5/12/12 Jersey Shore Kickoff  Sprint

5/19/12 Escape from Fort Delaware Olympic

6/3/12 Lava Swim 2.4 mile Swim only

6/10/12 Ironman 70.3 EagleMan HIM

9/23/12 Chesapeakeman 140.6 IM

Again, not to sound redundant, but I rely heavily on the advice I’ve received from so many of you. Please don’t hesitate to offer suggestions or guidance. And of course, encouragement is always welcomed.

Peace and thanks for reading!

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Preliminary Schedule for 2012

  1. The sched looks good but I want to address your mindset more than anything else. You will be training and preparing for the race so don’t look at it as if you have to do sprints, Olys and HIMs before doing an IM. Yes it is good practice and I agree with the stair step up as that is what I did, but the reality is that you can do it and you need to be confident in going into 2012 and saying that you CAN do it.

    You are going to be awesome’er in 2012 than you are right now and it is not going to be because you did a sprint, then oly, then HIM and IM. It is going to be because you have the guts to do an IM. It is going to be because you have the ability to train and balance life and because you will COMPETE and not just complete the IM.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | August 18, 2011, 10:01 am
  2. I agree! Sprints are fun, but not really necessary in IM training. Totally different kind of training for a sprint. If you want a fun race, then go for it though!

    Cant wait to follow your progress!

    Posted by Kacie | August 18, 2011, 12:10 pm
    • This reply is directed to Jason and to Kacie. I guess physically I totally understand what both of you are saying. I guess my concern is with the mental aspect. “In my head” it makes sense to do a sprint as your first tri of the year as a kind of warm up. And it always seems that my longest race should be at the end of the season and that I should have at least one of each distance in there first. I know that during my IM training, I’ll do plenty of long bricks that will be over 56 miles bikes and 13.1 mile runs, but at this point, my longest run ever is 10 miles and my longest bike is 70 miles and I only did that once (two weeks ago or so). I’ll definitely think about changing my perspective, particularly with regard to the sprint. Thanks to both of you for the input!

      Posted by paddyb76 | August 18, 2011, 1:56 pm
  3. Love it. If you keep the keep the Escape from Ft. Delaware on the schedule, I’ll definitely join you and make that my early season A race. If you can wait around at the end for a while, I’d love a hi 5. 🙂

    Posted by Kevin Hicks | August 18, 2011, 9:54 pm
  4. I think it looks like a pretty good race schedule plan and hopefully you will feel really confident going into your full IM. Can’t wait to hear about all the fun workouts in your future 🙂

    Posted by Sarah | August 19, 2011, 8:03 am
  5. Ok, I’m going to be completely honest here, so hopefully you don’t take offense.

    I think you are rushing it.

    Take you time, enjoy the progression. Devote a year to mastering the half Ironman distance and then start to think about jumping to the full IM distance.

    Do I think you can do an IM next year? Absolutely. I’m just saying that the journey is half (if not more) of the fun.

    Now, I’m not saying the way I did things is perfect or better or anything like that, but I did my first half IM in 2009 and got my ass handed to me. i came away from that race with a entirely new perspective on what was required of me training and nutrition wise. I then spent 2010 focusing on nailing the half IM distance. I did 3 that year growing a little bit each one. My final half IM of 2010 wasn’t my PR for the year, but it was the hardest race I had ever done. The bike course was hilly as all get out and crushed me. But, in finishing that race, I knew that I was mentally and physically ready for the next step.

    Again, just my 2 cents. Good luck!

    Posted by Kevin | August 20, 2011, 5:09 pm
    • First of all Kevin, I have complete respect for you as an athlete. I’m honored that you can be honest with me. I think you have a very valid point, and if I had my way, I’d do it the way you’re saying. Problem is, my wife is interested in having another baby in 2013 and I was told that that year was off the table. If I don’t do it next year, I’ll be waiting until 2014, at which point I’ll be 37. Not that I’d be too old, but I want to do more than one of these and the earlier I start, the more I can do.

      Posted by paddyb76 | August 20, 2011, 6:15 pm
  6. Congrats on making 2012 you Iron year!

    Okay, I’d have the same reco as Kevin but based on your circumstances let’s make it work for 2012.

    First, get yourself a solid training plan or coach. If you need a plan I can send you one (used by Kevin, Drog, and myself this year). You need to map out the year in advanced using a plan. Without a plan you will just be doing stuff and that won’t work. Get a plan, work that plan – just like life.

    Now that you have a plan you need to look at your race schedule and figure out what works. Not in terms of your flexibility, but in terms of best training scenario. You might be better off dumping the early season sprint and Oly. By this point you’ll have done these distance so the “mental aspect” of completing the distance is no longer a factor.

    The main reason to skip those races is that you’ll be much better served doing long training days as shorter races at threshold impair recovery time. You’ll understand what this means about 10 weeks into a 24-week plan. Recovery is beyond important. Also races usually involve taper and travel – both of these factors limit effective training.

    If you are serious about doing an IM then make that your goal. Everything else can wait to the previous year. You need to approach this IM race with tunnel vision. Everything else is a distraction. Go into this with this mindset and you’ll be fine.

    However, the 2.4mi swim is a nice option. Use this as a long training day, do the swim and then (depending on the training schedule) run or bike after to get in a full day. Also doing the HIM 3 months out is also a good idea as to gauge your fitness and nutrition (I can help you here too).

    Now for the rest of this year I notice a large gap from the Philly 1/2 until the first sprint (which should be cut)? With your limited endurance background you need to use this time to build some base. This is very important. Find yourself a marathon plan (Hal Higdon, Galloway) and follow it through the winter. Follow the plans and work up to some longer runs. If you do not have an indoor trainer, get one. Do 3-4 rides per week on the trainer. Do a combination of intervals and recovery (recovery to compliment your running). Most rides should be less than an hour but will help you immensely when your IM training begins in late March.

    If you can swim a few times over the winter great, if not that will be addressed during training.

    Let me know if you have any questions?

    Posted by Jeff Irvin | August 20, 2011, 7:21 pm
    • Holy shit Jeff, I really appreciate the tips and believe me, I’m going to be using them. I already have several questions that I’ll email you. You’ve been here and done this before, so I have total respect. I do have Matt Fitzgerald’s book and am planning on figuring out which level works best for me, I’m hoping for level 7 if I can manage that with work, marriage and fatherhood (hell, I can always just get up earlier)

      Posted by paddyb76 | August 20, 2011, 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

