//
you're reading...
Life in general, Triathlon, Uncategorized

Randomness

So, I’ve been struggling finding the time to blog and I realized that not every entry needs to be so voluminous nor so profound that it takes me weeks to write, heck most of you are probably reading out of politeness and would likely prefer me to write shorter posts. I’m going to try to update more frequently with whatever moves me, rather than trying win Pulitzer Prizes. Here we go:

Ironmania: First of all, last Sunday was Ironman Lake Placid. This was really the first Ironman that I followed and the first where I knew anyone who was racing. I use “knew anyone” loosely because of the people who I was following, I’ve only interacted with them via twitter or daily mile. That being said, I’ve followed their progress closely and their training and subsequent accomplishments had a rather big impact on me. In particular, I was paying special attention to JonShawn and Mandy. Months ago, I had several conversations with people regarding 140.6 mile triathlons. Most of them went something like this:

Me: I’m training for a triathlon.

Other person: That’s crazy, those people are nuts.

Me: No, I don’t do those Ironman things. My races only take and hour or two.

Other person: Oh…… Do you think you’ll ever do one them?

Me: No, that’s crazy, those people are nuts.

Last Monday after being gently encouraged, nudged, and prodded by a few folks on twitter, I had the Ironman conversation with my wife Julie. I explained to her that yes, it is something that I need to do. It is part of my evolution. This conversation is not over, but I think she has excepted the fact that it’s going to happen. She’s aware of the sacrifice that she will likely need to make, but I think she recognizes how important this is to me. In all likelihood, I think we’re looking at 2014, so I’ve got time on my side. Hell, my first Olympic tri is more than a month away. Much much more to come on this topic.

Weekend Recap: We went to the Jersey Shore for the weekend and I had some really good training experiences. On friday I had a killer 90/30 brick that kicked ass, I definitely need to run more off the bike. On Saturday I ran over 10 miles for the first time in my life and felt like a million bucks. Today my legs are a little tight, especially in the knees. Sore, but not injured. Today I was going for a long ride and I noticed that my front tire was flat. Instead of changing it in the garage, I pumped the time up and took off. Everything was fine for the first 18 miles or so, then I dropped my water bottle and when I turned around to get it, the tire blew, and I went down. Luckily I had looked before turning and there were no cars anywhere nearby. I banged my elbow for sure and my hip is a bit sore.

Sorry, I realize this is an “In your face” picture.

This whole event wasn’t such a big deal except for the fact that I’ve never had to change a tube before. Remember, I’m fairly new at this sport. Anyway, I watched a youtube video on my phone to make sure I knew what I was doing. The only trouble I ran into was getting the tire back inside the rim. Other than that, everything went great and I pushed it for the last 6 miles home. Now I can rest confidently knowing that a scraped up elbow and a flat tire aren’t gonna stop me. Honestly, knowing I can do makes me feel much more self-sufficient. Anyway, now that summer school is over, I have a few more weeks to focus on my training before school starts back again.

Thanks for reading…..

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Randomness

  1. Ironman’s a big goal. You’ve been a big encouragement to me, and I’ll be watching your journey, and encouraging you to the extent I’m able.

    Posted by Kevin H | August 1, 2011, 9:24 am
    • Seriously Kevin, every mile you log is encouragement enough. Don’t get me wrong, I totally appreciate your words and comments, but seeing you get faster or have one of those rides where everything just clicks is my motivation. One of the things I love about this sport is that the competition is from within and almost everybody wants the guy next him to do his best. Thanks buddy!

      Posted by paddyb76 | August 1, 2011, 1:31 pm
  2. NO DOUBT about Ironman. NO DOUBT…..

    Isn’t it an awesome feeling to change the tire and have it hold? Especially when you do it that first time. I have done it a few times since and I still get nervous but once I know it’s holding I am smiling from ear to ear.

    Stay Strong, Stay Positive, Become an IRONMAN!

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | August 1, 2011, 9:46 am
  3. Love the IM conversation with your wife.

    Best decision I ever made. Just saying.

    Glad you are OK from your crash!

    Posted by caratunkgirl | August 4, 2011, 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

