//
you're reading...
Life in general, Uncategorized

Those last couple lbs

So the day after thanksgiving, I weighed 257 lbs – 265 lbs, depending on the scale. My goal was to loose 40 lbs by May first. I did that. Then, I set a new goal to get down to 200 lbs by the end of the summer. I don’t know for sure how class I am, but I do think my weight loss has plateaued. I know why, I eat well, but I eat a lot. I need to remain mindful that what got me to loose weight, after years of trying was dietary discipline. It’s frustrating because I love food and have found such great recipes on blogs like cooktraineatrace and feerlessfood.
Now how much more weight I want or need to loose can be a contentious issue. Some people are already telling me that I’m too thin at around 210-215 (I’m 6-3). I know that in order to be my most competitive as a triathlete, I’d probably need to weigh around 185 or so. I don’t know if that will ever happen or not. As far as living the healthiest, longest and most disease free life, I definitely still need to loose more weight. At what point do I say, “hey, I’m healthy and that’s good. I may not be perfect, but it will do ” or do I continue to strive for perfection constantly trying to be more and more healthy. (I might be exaggerating a bit here. I did have a choc chip cookie last night with a Klondike bar on top of it).
Gonna stop here, but a always I’d appreciate your thoughts and any ideas on how to bust through the plateau.

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Those last couple lbs

  1. I’ve been thinking about exactly the same things. My serious training started a few months after yours, but I seem to have plateaued maybe 10-15 pounds above ideal weight. I’ve had the exact same question–how much do I care? Exercise covers a multitude of diet sins, and I do think of food as one of the joys of life. How much do I want to trade what I want to eat for further weight loss, faster speed, etc? Still thinking through this, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the right answer changes over time.

    Posted by Kevin Hicks | July 19, 2011, 8:57 pm
  2. It’s one of those things where the definition of healthy, balance etc change everyday. Thanks for reading and for your thoughts.

    Posted by paddyb76 | July 19, 2011, 9:23 pm
  3. With all your training you are are doing, I don’t think it’s a good thing to cut calories. But if you are trying to lose more, I wouldn’t go under 200 pounds. I think the height/weight chart is off a bit. My husband is the same height and weight as you and I think he would like too thin if he was 185.

    Posted by Sarah | July 20, 2011, 9:19 am
    • Thanks Sarah, everything about me has gotten faster since I’ve lost all the weight, and it’s hard to know where the point is when that correlation changes. We’ll see what happens if I actually get to 200.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 22, 2011, 8:50 pm
  4. Where did you get 185lbs from is my first question. Second if that is the weight you want to be at then go for it.

    I am tired of hearing the statement you are too thin as if that is not an insult. I work hard to get to where I am and just because the rest of the country is super sized does not mean that I am unhealthy.

    The other problem is that people think that because they work out they can eat whatever they want. This may be true to a point because your choco chip cookie/klondike combination won’t last long on you because you are working out, doesn’t mean you have free reign to eat that way. Your body needs fuel and those simple sugars are just not going to cut it for you when your training intensifies.

    Keep working hard, keep enjoying the results, keep being an inspiration to those around you who think they can’t but see that you are and that they can.

    Stay Strong!

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | August 1, 2011, 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

