//
you're reading...
addiction

Current substance status

When I started this blog, I intended it to document my struggles with addiction not just triathlon. I haven’t included much about addiction to date and probably should, it’s therapeutic for me to talk or write about it.
For the record, I haven’t had a drink in 7.5 years and have been drug free for the same time. I have continued to battle with nicotine off and on. I’ve been a smoker and a chewer off and on for much of the last 18 years.
I’m currently clean of all substances with the exception of caffeine, but would not characterize that as harmful or as an addiction. I haven’t had any coffee since yesterday morning and am doing fine. I normally get a 24 oz in the morning and maybe another later in the day. So I have no vices, except for my foul mouth.
All of this might mead you to believe that I’m free of issues when it comes to this kind of stuff. I’m not, but more in that later. Thanks for reading.

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

One thought on “Current substance status

  1. I think it is great that you put this out there. I understand. I haven’t had a drop of alcohol since May 4, 2007 and I do not miss it one bit. My life is so much better now in every way. Congrats on your sobriety!

    Posted by kc | October 30, 2011, 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

