//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I’ve Come Pretty Far and I Have a Way to Go

I set out on this journey way back in November with the hope of completing a sprint triathlon. Before too long, competition got a hold of me and I was looking to finish in a certain time, and a certain percentile etc. While I didn’t quite hit my goal (time or percentile) in my A race, I performed well and was happy with how I did. In my most recent race, I actually won the Clydesdale division. It was a small race with about 120 competitors, but it was a big accomplishment for me. In my head it also meant to me that I’ve mastered the Clydesdale/fatboy thing and regardless of my weight (@212 lbs) it was time for me to start registering as an age group athlete. No more crutches.
So as this season of sprints (I’ve done 3 so far) has progressed, the thought of finding an Olympic distance race before the end of the season has entered my mind. I’d place no goals on myself other than to complete it smoothly and comfortably, getting me ready for next year when I plan on doing a few Olympics.
So the natural progression of this sport and the pattern that I seem to be adopting says that if I do an Oly at the end of my sprint year, then next year, the year of the Oly, I’ll need to do a 70.3.
In my head I’m comfortable with that idea. I think I could complete a 70.3 now. It wouldn’t be fast, but I would finish. I was reading another post today from a guy who recently did a 70.3. I looked at his results and thought, man that’s fast. Then I looked up someone else’s HIM results and thought the same thing. Guys running sub 2:00:00 1/2 marathons AFTER biking 56 miles. Not only that, those 56 miles were around 21 mph. The furthest I’ve ever ridden in 51 miles, and that was at 19 mph and it was flat, real flat. And if I’d tried to run a 3 mile brick when I was done, I’d have clocked a 15 minute pace.
The point is, that I have enough speed to perform well in a sprint, and I have enough endurance to finish a 70.3; putting the two together in order to finish a HIM in a respectable amount of time feels like a very long way off. It also reaffirms the respect and awe that I have for my fellow athletes.
I hope that one day I can put together a respectable 70.3, but in the mean time I’m just going to keep taking lots of baby steps and enjoying the ride. I remain humbled by the others out there. I’m mindful of where I was a year ago, and grateful that I’ve been able to come this far. I guess it’s the “gamer” in me that keeps getting frustrated.

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “I’ve Come Pretty Far and I Have a Way to Go

  1. You continue to impress!!! It’s addicting no? I mean seriously you can’t get enough of this stuff. The beauty of tri progression is that there isn’t a specific program or model. You can jump straight into the distance you want to train for, but if you do follow some sort of progression you can do exactly what you’re doing…learn a lot along the way in preparation!

    No doubt you’ll finish strong in any distance you choose to race in! Keep on trucking Pacca Bacca!

    Posted by Greg | July 15, 2011, 6:36 am
  2. Great job on coming so far! Triathlons are addicting aren’t they? I just did my first sprint tri in June, and have signed up for two Olys, one in August and Sept. I am looking for a 70.3 in the fall, but can’t find any that fit my schedule 😦 So I have to hold off till next year.

    I think the Eagelman course in Cambridge would be a nice 70.3. I rode the 56 mile course and it is nice and flat, but also sunny and windy.

    Good luck and I know you can finish a 70.3!!

    Posted by Sarah | July 15, 2011, 8:06 am
    • Sarah, thanks so much for reading. I’m totally impressed that you’re gonna do 2 Olys and want to do 70.3 already. Hopefully we can race the same course in the next year or two. Keep up the awesome work.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 15, 2011, 10:24 am
  3. This sport is flat out awesome. There is no better way to say it. I did just as your doing (sort of.) I spent my first season as the Sprint King then did an Oly at the end of that year (2010) but I had already registered for HIMCA and that was my goal.

    This year I will end up racing a handful of Olys with 2 70.3s and next year will be 2 140.6 races, 2 70.3 races and another handful of Olys…..here is the thing about it: I am afraid of the sprint now. Getting into lactate threshold for an hour gives me the heeby-jeeby’s…..is that not crazy?

    Can’t wait to race with you soon.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | July 15, 2011, 9:58 pm
    • Funny you should say that about the sprint. Walking out of the gym today, I see a guy with an ironman tattoo. I ask him where he raced, and we got to talking. Turns out the same thing is true for him. Totally afraid of the burn. Said he’s not built for speed. 99% of the people on this planet would describe an event lasting over an hour as an endurance event. Only us crazy trisporters would call it a speed event.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 15, 2011, 10:35 pm
      • LOL….I may have to race one just to see if I can get it done in under an hour. Problem is I have stuffed my schedule with event after event.

        Just registered today for an Oly on 10/2 and have the 70.3 on 10/23. Going to be tough to get anything else in before next year in terms of the sprint distance.

        Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | July 15, 2011, 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

