//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A few random thoughts

So, since school let out about 3 weeks ago, I’ve been able to squeeze in two training sessions per day. Generally, in order to keep my wife happy, one of them needs to happen before I go to work (I teach summer school until 1:00 pm), this means I’m getting up at 4:00 am. While I understand that this is not likely to evoke sympathy from a bunch of endurance athletes, I need to further lay out my case.

My doubled training volume come at a time when the my 3 month old daughter has decided to make sleeping an elusive activity, so when I’ve slept, it hasn’t been all that well and it has begun a lot later than the 9 pm I like. Also, I decided to start including strength training into my work load and that has left me unable to walk normally, sit down normally, or stand up normally. You’d think after years and years of lifting weights, I’d know how not to over do it, but I failed (again) and am so sore I want to cry.

The point here is that something has to change. In the spirit of never quitting, I’m going to make that thing just one workout. Instead of swimming this afternoon, I’m taking my wife out and we’re going to spend some time together and relax. She has been asking for it, and just as importantly, my body is demanding it. I’m gonna get to bed early and start, hopefully more refreshed, tomorrow.

Venting done, thanks for reading,

Patrick

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A few random thoughts

  1. Nothing like balancing life and training. It is like the 4th discipline of this sport.

    I’ve never been big into lifting and never been to the point of wanting to cry, but I love that soreness after a good strength workout.

    Posted by Kevin | July 13, 2011, 8:07 pm
  2. Life balance is key my brother. I know you will have that figured out for sure.

    As for strength training I think you saw my post on it. I use light weight with relatively high reps but do it aerobically so I am getting that benefit as well not to mention I am done in 30-45 minutes.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | July 15, 2011, 9:50 pm

Leave a Reply

