//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Double Trouble Race Report

1st Place Clydesdale Division

Just to give you a little bit about this race, Double Trouble is a sprint triathlon that is broken down so that each athlete swims twice, bikes twice and runs twice. Therefore there are five transitions. The race is run by Jersey Shore Multisport, a company who puts on about a dozen races a year. They include mostly sprint tris, but also open water swims, time trials, clinics etc. I only decided to do this race a week ago so going into it I had no specific goals, I just wanted to get out there, race well and get the transition practice in. It was also hard not to do this race as the transition area was about 50 ft from our front door. No joke.

Here is transition before the race. If you look at the tan building in the back ground, my bedroom window is on the third floor on the right

It was nice to be able to tease fellow Daily Miler, Adam G. into coming down from NYC to race. It was great to finally meet him and the conversations before and after the race were great as he shared some of his experiences with me.

Swim 1: (300 yds/8:17) Last week I swam this course everyday. This is the water I play in when my family goes on vacation. It was my first competitive ocean swim, and my first ever beach start. I was anxious about both, but in retrospect, I enjoyed them completely. My swim was smooth and easy. It felt good the whole way and I knew I was quick out of the water. I think the reason for the slightly longer time was because they started us at the top of the beach and because once you exit the water, you have to run up the beach across the boardwalk and down a street before you officially enter transition.

Bike 1: (5 miles/13:33) Nice bike ride. Straight, flat and the same course I ride everyday when I’m down here in the summer. Remember I ride an entry level road bike, and it was pretty cool when I asked the guy on Cervelo P2 next to me if he had a computer and he said we were rolling at 23 MPH. I almost shit myself. I’ve never ridden that hard before. I don’t know if it lasted long, but it felt good for sure. I think I passed one person and only got passed once on the bike.

Run 1: (1.56/11:13) It was nice and I think to my advantage to have 2 short runs as opposed to one longer one. Psychologically it was easier on me anyway. The run wasn’t noteworthy, I got passed a few times, I always do. A few people said that they’re Garmin’s had the run as slightly shorter than 1.56 which might make a little sense as I don’t think I’m quite that fast.

Swim 2:  (8:26)I was a little apprehensive about getting back into the water a second time after being winded from the first round. Boy was I wrong. As soon as I entered the 69* water, I felt great. It was like it cooled me off and totally refreshed me. I was able to lengthen my stroke and glide through the second swim with relative ease.

Bike 2: (13:38)This bike was equally unremarkable other than to say I knew I was moving pretty good and was feeling a burn in my thighs which I was worried about going into the run. I did notice around the turn around that I had picked up some time over some people.

Run 2: (10:01)  I was flying (for me) on this run. I felt great, knew it was almost over and was able to lay it all out there on the short run. I passed a few people during this and felt great going into the finish. It’s rare for me to feel good about a run.

Total Time: 1:08:47

Race Highlights

  • 1st place Clydesdale Division
  • 26th Overall
  • First ocean swim
  • First beach start
  • 5 great transitions
  • Bike pace that averaged 21mph
  • Great second run for a very strong finish

Summary: All in all I had a great time racing today. Although I didn’t go into too much detail with them, all of my transitions were smooth as butta, so the purpose of the day was accomplished. So far my experience with Jersey Shore Multisport has been completely positive and I think they put on some great races. I’d love to see them add an olympic event soon. Overall, I’d recommend them to anyone looking for a fun, laid back easygoing race. I was very happy with how everything turned out.

About paddyb76

Aspiring triathlete and endurance athlete. Husband, father and teacher. Always seeking a better life.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Double Trouble Race Report

  1. Congrats! I’ve never heard of a double tri like that before. Sounds like a fun way to go pedal to floor the entire time. You were flying!

    Posted by Kevin | July 11, 2011, 8:39 pm
    • Thanks Kev, honestly I couldn’t have had more fun. It was great practice and the times coming out favorably was just a bonus. Enjoy your recovery week. Sounds like you need it after the weekend you had.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 11, 2011, 9:26 pm
  2. Great job Patrick! Congrats on the W as well as an overall smooth race. Never ran in a tri like this. Going to have to give a go sometime.

    Posted by Greg | July 12, 2011, 9:49 am
  3. Great work man! That’s a hell of a second run too–well done! There a 4 x swim/run here next week that I might do. I think its a 1 mile run with maybe a 1/4 mile swim? I need to look into it I guess lol

    Posted by Feerlessfood | July 12, 2011, 8:03 pm
    • Hardly the endurance race that I have my mind set on, but all the transitions made it as fun as could be. I’d definitely recommend it if you have the chance. Thanks for the support Chuck, it really means a lot.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 12, 2011, 9:08 pm
  4. Great job brother. This sounds very interesting on the double through the course. Obviously not a wetsuit swim b/c having to put it on after running would have been a nightmare.

    Keep up the great work.

    Posted by Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race | July 13, 2011, 6:19 am
    • Thanks man! Actually a lot of people wore a wetsuit for the first swim. I didn’t think it made sense though because of how short it was. The
      Part I can’t get over is how fun it was, I was smiling the entire race. If you ever get the chance to do something like this, do it for sure. Great practice and tons of fun. If you ever head back to NYC, let me know, these guys run races from Asbury Park down to Island Beach State Park where they do a 30k TT.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 13, 2011, 6:44 am
  5. Interesting race set up. I love the idea of completely screwing the body up by doing this haha.

    Man you definitely had those transitions down pat. I would have had a disaster, after the swim I can never find my dang goggles haha.

    Keep up the good work, don’t worry about your two a day workouts too much, just get good quality sessions in and you will be fine!

    Posted by Matt Oravec | July 13, 2011, 2:39 pm
    • Thanks Matt, I’ll try to heed your advice about the two a days, but it’s hard knowing that the guy giving the advice, picks up a 70.3 like it’s a walk in the park. I understand the idea not to put too much pressure on myself, but I got goals man! Lol.

      Posted by paddyb76 | July 13, 2011, 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

